Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Jake’s Farm May 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 8:56 am
Tags:

 

Yesterday was day 1 of…you guessed it:  my CSA pick-up!  I was out and about with my grandmother having lunch in Asheville and seeing a movie.  On our way home to rescue the dog from boredom, we stopped by Jake’s Farm.  It was really out in the country and the roads were quite curvy and many were gravel.  But my little Honda persevered and we made it intact.  And left with this mound of goodies:

 

I am quite pleased with the bounty and they say the box will only grow as the season progresses.  However, I did get three vegetables I was a bit unsure about…Mostly unsure about what they actually ARE!  So I now think I have pretty good guesses but I’m going to line them up for you.  Please comment and let me know if you KNOW what they are!  I need confirmation!

1)

 

2)

 

3)

 

Ideas?!!

Ok, so I’ll leave you with some close-ups of the food as well as pictures of the farm.  Looking forward to cooking 🙂

 

6 Responses to “Jake’s Farm”

  1. Sheila Z Says:

    1) Nasturtium blossoms, great in salads!

    2) Kohlrabi, peel the bulb part and slice it thin, great in salads tastes a bit like radish or broccoli stems

    3) Swiss Chard (Bright Lights variety) I like these steamed. Melt some butter on top and a grind of black pepper, salt and cider vinegar. I like it better than spinach.

  2. this is so amazing! Jake’s Farm looks fabulous, so many great colors and gorgeous produces! u could make such delicious meals with all this ❤ YUM

  3. I’m still expanding to use more than the typical produce, so these are new to me. They are beautiful though. 🙂

  4. Wow, that’s a beautiful assortment of fresh produce!! 🙂

    Jenn

  5. Wow! What a great variety of produce you got! I have no idea what they are, but I’m very interested to find out what they are and how you are going to use them!!

  6. […] I decided to eat the kohlrabi for lunch yesterday along with the fresh salad greens I received from Jake’s Farm.  […]


Leave a comment