Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Three Times the Charm May 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 8:57 am
Tags: ,

Are you sick of strawberries and rhubarb yet?!  I’m not 🙂

Here is the last of my three recipes combining the two ingredients…first a rubble, then a crisp, now a crumble.

I found a recipe for Strawberry-Rhubarb Squares from Stonyfield Farms and while I didn’t have all the ingredients, I substituted.  The squares had a tough time staying together…they sliced well but them fell apart.  But oh they were good.  So sugary and sweet!  I took them to my young adult small group meeting at church and people really enjoyed them.  They were all gone before I left.  But unfortunately I left without a photo…but trust me, you’re not missing much.  Just imagine crumbs 🙂

Here is the original recipe.  I however substituted mashed banana for 1/4 c. of yogurt and 1/2 c. of granulated sugar for brown sugar.  I also didn’t have strawberry flavored yogurt, so used french vanilla and added real strawberries 🙂  Maybe my substitutions had something to do with it falling apart?

When I made the recipe, it had been one of those days where I felt very overwhelmed and stressed.  I’ve had it pretty easy since returning from Togo, but once in a while my days get so jammed packed, I have a melt down.  Life was just slower in Togo and some days I have a hard time readjusting.  Well, I decided not to use a blender to cream the butter, egg, and sugar and instead put all my frustration into it.  Man, my arm hurt!  But it was creamed.  And after talking to my mom on the phone, I felt much better.  Plus after eating a piece of this with a glass of milk before bed…ahh, life was good again 🙂

Here are the steps:

Well worth the frustration!  And a season ends…goodbye rhubarb, it’s been fun!  Until next year…

 

5 Responses to “Three Times the Charm”

  1. oh wow, what a great idea .. love the progression to a crumble hehe. wow i love the top on this too.. oi always find it the crispiest.. and with the most toppings.. i always scoop out the top layer which bugs people so much haha.

    it turned out fantastic!! amazing!

    yes … goodbye rhubarb.. it had its place.. but now its on to newer and better things ❤

  2. Karen Alley Says:

    If you have more rhubarb, I recommend this recipe:

    http://southernfood.about.com/od/rhubarbrecipes/r/bl30608n.htm

    Any crusty day old bread, torn up, works incredibly well!

  3. I have never had the pleasure of having strawberry rhubarb anything, I’m very curious now. That looks yummy. 🙂

    Jenn

  4. This looks really yummy!!! I’m sure your group loved this!!

  5. lawyer Says:

    I will try this recipe today. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

