Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Resurfacing May 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 9:50 am
Tags: , ,

Well, I’m back…slowly 🙂  I woke up grumpy this morning and it was hard to get out of bed.  I think I have just been going and going and going over the past two weeks.  I was out of town last week for my sister’s graduation and this weekend went to Nashville with my mom.  Don’t get me wrong…it was all fun!  But I’m a bit tired!

The trip to Nashville was a trip down memory lane.  I lived there for seven years between the ages of four and eleven.  My mom and I went by our old house and I secretly took a picture with my camera phone.  I got nervous someone would be suspicious if I got out and took a “real” picture.  And someone did see us out the window…I sped away 🙂  But here it is…It looked so much smaller than I remember it!

Plus we went by my elementary school, Granbery.  Luckily all the trailers are gone and they’ve added a new wing, but it still looks pretty much the same!

We also enjoyed some good meals.  We met friends Rodney and Brian for dim sum at Lucky Bamboo.  I had only had dim sum once before in San Francisco.  Here’s  a little info on dim sum if you’ve never had it before.  It was a fun experience again and I tried lots of new foods.  Very tasty!  Again, just a quick photo with my camera phone…Sorry I forgot the camera!

But we did go into the Asian supermarket next door…I picked up some fun goodies so look for the recipes next week!

Well, I’m off to get my head above water.  But before that…Check out this blog.  I just won her giveaway of a Giadi de Laurentiis pasta package.  Can’t wait to cook!

 

2 Responses to “Resurfacing”

  1. i think that is so beautiful going back and seeing the places that ‘housed’ so many memories. u have no idea how much i enjoyed this post. and what a great meal that was served up too!!! ps. LOVE the pic of you, so fierce hehe. pretty pretty pretty!!! ❤

  2. Robin Langford Says:

    Congrats on the great pasta giveaway — can’t wait to see your new recipes! T wants spaghetti and meat sauce for his birthday meal tomorrow (such a traditionalist) but NEXT week, I’ll be up for something a little more experimental. A little. Rest and recuperate while you can!


Leave a Reply

