Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Yoga Pose May May 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 8:08 am
Tags:

I am so excited to be participating in Yoga Pose May hosted by Tina and Kate.  Each day, throughout the month of May, several bloggers will be posting about a different yoga pose.  I was given today (May 4!) and Child Pose.  The point is to raise awareness about yoga, encourage you, the reader, to learn about and practice yoga, and to find and read lots of new blogs.  So here are the other bloggers for today…Make sure to check them out!

Heather’s Dish
Always Joy
Steff Says

So, Child Pose, huh?!  Pretty easy, right?  Well, yep, I guess so.  It is easily my favorite pose during hot and difficult yoga classes.  But I always find the pose at the beginning of a yoga class to be hard.  My body never is very warm or loose at that point, and I often have a hard time settling in.  Only halfway throughout the class, do I really enjoy the pose…it’s when I can finally collapse into it and really feel the relaxation and release associated with it.

The pose is often also called Child’s Pose or as I learned while during research for this post: balasana.  It is Sanskrit for…you guess it!…Child Pose (bala = child; sana = pose; pronounce = bah-LAHS-anna).  I also found out that it is a particularly great stretch for the hips, thighs, and ankles. 

I found most of my information at Yoga Journal.  Here’s their advice for getting into the pose:

Kneel on the floor. Touch your big toes together and sit on your heels, then separate your knees about as wide as your hips.

 Exhale and lay your torso down between your thighs. Broaden your sacrum across the back of your pelvis and narrow your hip points toward the navel, so that they nestle down onto the inner thighs. Lengthen your tailbone away from the back of the pelvis while you lift the base of your skull away from the back of your neck.

Lay your hands on the floor alongside your torso, palms up, and release the fronts of your shoulders toward the floor. Feel how the weight of the front shoulders pulls the shoulder blades wide across your back.

 Balasana is a resting pose. Stay anywhere from 30 seconds to a few minutes. Beginners can also use Balasana to get a taste of a deep forward bend, where the torso rests on the thighs. Stay in the pose from 1 to 3 minutes. To come up, first lengthen the front torso, and then with an inhalation lift from the tailbone as it presses down and into the pelvis.

I also found two arm variations.  You can place your arms in front of you with the palms facing down (as seen in the first picture) or clasp your hands behind your back, as seen here.  You can really do whichever is most comfortable for you.

I think my favorite part when I began yoga was to hear: Go into Child Pose whenever you want; if you feel tired or out of breath.  Just rejoin the class when you are ready.  I love being told I’m allowed to rest 🙂

If you’ve never tried yoga or haven’t done it in a while, I invite you to.  I promise Child Pose will become one of your favorites too!

Just a couple of precautions and as everyone has heard before, when you start a new exercise routine, talk to your doctor first!
If you have high blood pressure, heart condition or any other medical condition where your head needs to be above the level of your heart; you can rest your forehead on a small pillow to the point where your head is in line with your spine. The pose also isn’t particularly good for varicose veins and pregnant women need to spread their knees apart.

 

8 Responses to “Yoga Pose May”

  1. in my practice i always look forward to this pose right after a hard sequence. brings me back to my intentions and helps me re-align my postures. xoxo ❤ oh thanx for the new bloggies, i'll have to check them out!

  2. thanks for the link! (i linked you on my yoga post as well) 🙂
    your child’s pose is great…and i love your blog too!

  3. Great job on Yoga Pose May! I liked the background info you included on Child’s Pose.

  4. I love childs pose during hot/hard classes too. So relaxing & a must needed break at times!

  5. […] other bloggers to do the same.  Well, that changed a couple of weeks ago when Jen found me through Yoga Pose May.  We literally live two miles from one another.  We exchanged a few emails and met for the first […]

  6. […] in my very own very teeny tiny blogger meet up! While checking out Yoga Pose May I came across this post, and discovered the blogger, Ann, lives about five minutes away from me. We finally got a chance to […]

  7. […] Appalachian Appetites […]


Leave a Reply

