Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Baked Apple Chips May 1, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 11:54 am
Tags:

I bought a big bag of organic Gala apples earlier in the week.  They have been super crisp and sweet, but we were having a difficult time getting through all of them.  They were starting to bruise, and I wanted to make sure we ate them before they went bad.  I went to my new favorite search engine and found lots of recipes for apple chips.  The recipes all seemed super easy and the ingredients very common.  So I decided to go for it! 

I don’t have a mandoline slicer, so I had to cut them by hand 😦  I was a bit worried but with a sharp knife it worked out well!  I think if I ever take a cooking class, a knife skills one would be my first choice.  I am in definite need of some tips.  But…it worked out ok this time.

I sliced them and placed them in a bowl of water to keep them from turning brown.

I then placed them in a single layer on some parchment paper lining a baking sheet.  I sprinkled them lightly with cinnamon and sugar…And that’s it!  No oil…no butter.

They cooked at 225 degrees for approximately an hour and a half.

The end product proved great!  They still had a nice bite to them and had retained a lot of flavor.  The cinnamon and sugar were of course a nice addition too! 

We snacked on them all day long…A perfect treat!

 

One Response to “Baked Apple Chips”

  1. annecalista Says:

    I love apple chips! Good to know they are so easy to make.


Leave a Reply

