Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

The Lettuce Balls Continue April 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 2:07 pm
Tags: , ,

Finally got my lettuce balls done!   First, thanks to my in-laws Alex and Mary Jo for helping me finish them.  They helped me shop for final supplies and install the post for the balls to hang from.  It was a great time and I definitely needed the advice and support!  BECAUSE… 

I think this is the summer of experimentation.  I have really enjoyed diving into all of these new garden projects….I’m just not sure how well they are going to turn out!  My seedlings never made it 😦  So I ended up buying some.  And some are dying.  BUT, I planted them, set up my post, and have them hanging.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed.  If they don’t work then they don’t work.  Sigh.  I can always buy some more seedlings and keep,  yep, trying.  We’ll see!  But here’s the great work that’s gone into them!  Enjoy….(and send them positive thoughts!).

The sign makes me smile even if the lettuce doesn’t!

 

4 Responses to “The Lettuce Balls Continue”

  1. Sally Langford Says:

    I love the lettuce balls, as well as the stand and lettuce sign! Looks great. I am keeping my fingers crossed that the lettuce begins to thrive. I want a tomato and lettuce sandwich this summer!

  2. Elina Says:

    Absolutely adorable! I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it eventually and then will be reaping the benefits of your own garden. Very cool. 🙂

  3. I think in addition to what you have already got going there, you should also get a bunch of lettuce seed packets (W has some for 20 cents) and punch a whole bunch of seeds into the fabric. Many are bound to grow, especially if you keep it watered daily.

    Fun experiment!


Leave a Reply

