Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

BBQ Chicken April 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 8:04 am
Tags: , , ,

Found a quick and easy recipe in one of my new library books, Robin Rescues Dinner by Robin Miller.  Can you believe I actually had ALL of the ingredients already?!  I love when I find good recipes like that…Never like running to the grocery store for one random ingredient that I may  never use again or spend too much money on.  So this one really hit the spot!

Here are the ingredients:

  • chicken breast
  • salt
  • pepper
  • ketchup
  • maple syrup
  • Dijon mustard
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • ground cumin
  • heavy cream (I used regular milk)
  • frozen corn
  • frozen shelled edamame
  • rice

In essence, you make a BBQ sauce with the ketchup, syrup, mustard, Worcestershire sauce, and cumin. 

I used an old jar and shook it all up together!

You then coat the chicken with the sauce and bake it until the juices run clear!

I boiled some brown rice…

And steamed the corn and edamame in the microwave…

My Dad was in town for a night earlier in the week and dropped off an avocado…I couldn’t let that go to waste!  So along it went on the plate with the rice and veggies.

I then heated up some of the remaining BBQ sauce and added a splash of milk.  When I placed the chicken on the plate, the sauce followed!

This was a great, quick, go-to meal.  I need to find a way to add a bit more flavor, but overall, a success!  And you can’t beat a new recipe that uses at-home ingredients!

 

2 Responses to “BBQ Chicken”

  1. Becky Says:

    That looks great! Ok, so this has nothing to do with BBQ chicken, but I just thought of something you NEED to try. Have you ever had Nantahala Sausage? Its the best and its local. You can find it at Ingles. We had some yesterday…it’s very tasty, and it comes in hot. 🙂


Leave a Reply

