Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Pizza Blob April 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 9:52 am
Tags: , , , ,

I found what I thought was a great calzone recipe for my bread maker. 

But…nope.  I followed the directions PERFECTLY (doubled checked multiple times) and I ended up with this….

 

BLAH!  It was so soupy!  YUCK!

However, it was already 5pm, and I had been to the grocery store earlier in the day.  I refused to go again out of sheer exhaustion.  So I did a quick search on the web and found a few recipes for pizza dough with no yeast.  I just didn’t have time to let the bread rise.  So I ended up mixing some flour, baking powder, oil, water, salt, and italian seasoning.

I then cooked some ground pork that I picked up at The Bradford Store.  It was made at the Mclaughlin Farm in nearby Mooresville, NC.  My 9th grade English teacher is actually part of this family.  I didn’t remember that until my mom pointed it out while shopping last weekend.  I remember her class being VERY hard but Mom said she saw her a few weeks ago, and Mrs. Mclaughlin said she remembered me as a good student.  I’m glad she saw potential even through all of those horrible book essays!  😉

The dough was poured into a pan and topped with the browned meat (did you notice that it is spicy hot?!) and some olives I had in the fridge.

I cooked that for about 15 minutes at 350 degrees.  I then pulled it out and topped it with some pizza sauce and shredded mozzarella cheese.

 

 

I then baked it again for another 10 minutes until the cheese melted.

The pieces cut fairly well, but I was tired and didn’t feel like making more dirty dishes, so we decided to grab two forks and dig in!  The flavor was great…the consistency only so-so.  Nathan actually really enjoyed it and said he would eat it again anytime!  Well….out of a blop, come more…blop.  But at least it wasn’t a flop 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Pizza Blob”

  1. you won me over at the sausage and olives pic.

  2. I agree and I’d like to share with you my best pizza recipe tip as well.


Leave a Reply

