Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Baked & Browned April 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 10:56 am
Tags: , , , ,

Veggies!

Yep, I baked some yummy fresh veggies last night for dinner.  I love roasted veggies.  So simple.  So healthy.  So tasty.

I picked up some local sweet potatoes at The Bradford Store and tried to cut them as thinly as possible 🙂

 

 

 

I also bought some organic kale at Earth Fare and roasted that as well.  I know “kale chips” are old news in the food blog world, but I truly do love them.  Nathan and I inhale them so quickly!  Such a great way to eat your veggies.  If you’re not aware of them, here are some blogs that mention them…
Kath Eats Real Food

Smitten Kitchen

Carrots ‘N’ Cake

But really it is just kale, olive oil, salt, and better…and a HOT oven.  Here’s the kale…

 

 

And of course to the veggies, we add a little protein!  I picked up some local ground beef at The Bradford Store as well.  It is actually from the town I grew up in, China Grove

 

 

I simply browned them on the stove.

 

 

The dinner was quite good…and almost complete.  I missed having a hamburger bun!  I actually didn’t purchase any because I never know what to do with the leftover buns.  Any ideas?  I feel like I freeze them, find them months later, decide they are freezer burned, and throw them out!  I did find this great recipe from Ally so I plan on trying it next time.  I missed the yummy carbs 😉  Have a great day!

 

One Response to “Baked & Browned”

  1. Hi Ann! I love kale chips, too, although Steve always mocks me when I eat them; he thinks they’re gross. 🙂 I’m addicted to garlic, so I always add a little fresh minced garlic as well.

    As far as leftover hamburger buns, I always follow my mom’s old tradition of making them into garlic toast (yes, garlic again!)for an italian meal. Doesn’t even matter if they’re a bit dried out… just spread them with a little butter and garlic (dried or fresh both are fine) and bake until a little browned. Yum!


Leave a Reply

