Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

The Bradford Store March 30, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 8:10 am
Tags: , , , , ,

In my dad’s post last week, he mentioned that he went to The Bradford Store in Huntersville, NC to visit a family-owned business that sells a lot of local food.  Well, when I went home this past weekend, he invited me to go back with him and shop!  Of course I jumped at the chance and we went!  It was definitely everything I thought it would be…lots of charm and yummy food. 

We first checked out the garden store.

It was a nice sunny day!

It is run by T. McCloud, and he sells goods for farming and gardening.  We checked out his chicks…

And then saw his chickens and roosters in the moveable coop.

Afterwards, we checked out his seedlings.  He had many types of lettuce, along with spinach, broccoli, and herbs.  My dad picked up a flat along with some compost.  (He tells me he’s already planted them, so look for an update next time I go home. Good work, Dad!)

After the garden section, we headed into the store.  It was so homey and warm…they actually had a wood-stove burning!

I was so impressed with the selection.  They had everything from produce to dairy to meat to bake mixes to cosmetics.  I picked up A LOT of goodies so I’m excited about cooking this week. 

And before we left, we picked up one more item at the store….Seafood!  Now, I know what you’re thinking.  Seafood?  Mountains?  North Carolina?  Yep!  And it all came from the NC Coast by two local men.  I know it’s not “local local,” but I think a five hour drive is close enough.  And it was super fresh, just obtained the day before. 

There were a few choices, including flounder and scallops, but I went with the shrimp.

I am really looking forward to cooking this week, so check back often to see what I create in the kitchen!  Have a great day!

 

One Response to “The Bradford Store”

  1. Here’s an email from The Bradford Store…

    “Absolutely a wonderful write up on my parents place! Truly enjoyed reading your blog and a little bit about yourself!

    Thanks again and hope to see you back soon!

    Sally Bradford Watson”


Leave a Reply

