Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Gardening March 20, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 8:19 am
Tags:

I had a great meeting yesterday afternoon with Joseph and Becky, my new partners at community gardening.  I met Joseph and Becky at a young adult group at the church I’ve been attending.  They know about my blog, and Joseph approached me about using some of his land for a garden for the group.  I of course jumped on the opportunity!  Joseph will be the resident guru when it comes to gardening as he and his family have been doing it for years.  I am going to attempt to be the organizer of the practicalities of the project…who’s joining, how do we divide the labor, how do we divide the produce, etc.  I have my work cut out for me this weekend!  We are planning an information dinner at Joseph’s house next Thursday night, so hopefully we’ll get a better idea of who’s participating.  And I’ll get to see the land for the first time.  I’ll be sure to take pictures!

In order to get ready for my own gardening at the house, I bought some supplies at Lowe’s and Home Depot today.  Here’s what I got:

I hope to start my seedlings in the next few days, so I’ll document that process as well!  Looking forward to the experience.

And if you haven’t visited this blog, be sure to as she is doing a giveaway for a Grow Box.  I would love to win as it would perfect for my tomotoes on my small deck!

Have you ever participated or led a community garden?  Any advice for me?

 

3 Responses to “Gardening”

  1. Ashlei Says:

    I would love to be able to plant my garden….hopefully one day! 🙂 Very nice blog. I like what I’ve read so far!

  2. […] Seedlings! March 26, 2010 Filed under: Uncategorized — appalachianappetite @ 10:08 am Tags: gardening, lettuce, seedlings Remember when I bought supplies to plant seedlings last week? […]

  3. […] I had purchased organic seeds a few weeks back… […]


Leave a Reply

