Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Chocolate PB Cups March 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 9:30 am
Tags: , , , ,

So I was feeling the need for something a little sweet last night after dinner and instead of grabbing a cookie and turning on the tv decided to cook!  I found this recipe in the magazine Organic Shopper, which I picked up for free at Earth Fare.  I immediately was drawn to an article about Alicia Silverstone (still love Clueless!) because I had recently seen her interview on Oprah.  She is now vegan and believes herself to be in much better health than previously.  She has a new cookbook called The Kind Diet and the Organic Shopper was featuring a few of her recipes.  Here’s the SWEET one I decided to try last night:

So I grabbed all the ingredients including my local maple syrup, pecans, and butter! 

And started heating the pb, butter, maple syrup, and crushed graham crackers together. 

The hot melted mixture then went into paper muffin cups.

I then melted the chocolate chips with soy milk and once thoroughly mixed and melted, spooned the mixture over each pb cup.  I then topped them with a pecan!

Here’s the recipe which I followed pretty closely except for using regular semi-sweet chocolate chips:

Click to see it larger!

And follow this link and actually WATCH Alicia Silverstone make the Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups!

Making them is really worth it.  I was surprised at how easy they were…It took me less than 15 min!  And of course the ingredients are yummy, and the whole recipe is on the healthier side of “desserts.”

I tried to have just one bite, but I finished it…Off to have another one! 

 

6 Responses to “Chocolate PB Cups”

  1. Just found your blog! I also heard Alicia on Oprah, and in the past I heard her talk about these PB cups…yum!

  2. Mary Jo Says:

    Yummy! I might make over this weekend. 🙂

  3. lyn spataro Says:

    Ann these look awesome! Can’t wait to try them out. Loving the new blog!

  4. Chelsea Says:

    Ann, these look awesome! I have The Kind Diet, but haven’t tried this recipe yet. It’s a great book and I’ve loved the other recipes I’ve tried so far.

  5. VERY yummy! Thanks for sharing. PB Cups are my weakness and those were fantastic. Broke Lent to enjoy them.

  6. Ooh those look good 🙂 Yet another way to combine chocolate and PB- always a good choice.


Leave a Reply

