Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Chicken Potpie March 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 7:26 am
Tags: , ,

I found this great recipe in a Rachel Ray magazine my mother sent me in Togo.  Since I knew we were headed back to the States soon, I started clipping recipes that I thought sounded great and easy for dinner upon our return.  I tried this one out last night and really liked it.  Nathan called in “bland” but I just think he’s just missing spicy West African food.  I can’t cook “spicy” every night, can I?  I thought it was warm and comforting…savory and not spicy, which is not a problem for me!

So I grabbed this rotisserie chicken (again, spent most yesterday in the car, so needed something fast!) at Earth Fare:

And then shredded it:

And added it to the combo of carrots, celery, onions, mushrooms and a little wheat flour and cream (and ultimately a little parmesan cheese).

I then popped a fresh loaf of french bread out of the bread maker and sliced it.

I placed the slices on top of the hot mixture and topped the bread with olive oil. 

It then went into a 400 degree oven for 15 min (until the bread had browned).  And here is the final potpie:

Again, not so pretty, maybe a bit bland, but overall I was pleased.  And I love how the recipe didn’t call for exact amounts of ingredients.  A great recipe to use what you have in the house and throw together a warm comforting meal.  I have a couple of other potpie recipes that I may try soon…The cold weather is still here but fleeting so I want to get all of my “comfort” recipes in!  Do you have a favorite potpie recipe?  Share it with me and I’ll cook it!

 

2 Responses to “Chicken Potpie”

  1. Joanne Says:

    Great recipe for pot pie. I’ve never seen that before and love the idea of using bread over a fatty pastry.
    I don’t have a fav. pp recipe since working with pastry isn’t my favorite thing. But your recipe might just make me a convert.

  2. Simply Life Says:

    Looks like a great meal!


Leave a Reply

