Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Maple Pecan Bars March 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 8:48 am
Tags: , ,

Are you tired of maple syrup recipes yet?!  I hope not!  I’ve got another one…Maple Pecan Bars!

I combined the infamous maple syrup (that’s been included in various past posts) along with some freshly shelled pecans from my mother.  I had been saving them in the freezer for an occassion just like this!  So into the pot went:

  • butter
  • heavy cream
  • brown sugar and
  • maple syrup

In the meantime, I started the crust combining the following ingredients:

  • quick rolled oats
  • whole wheat flour
  • dark brown sugar
  • softened butter
  • salt and
  • a bit of cold water

After it was all combined in a bowl, I pressed it into a pan and put it in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 min.

During this, the mixture on the stove began to boil.  As soon as it did, I waited 30 sec. and then added some real vanilla extract and the pecans.  I mixed it all together and once I removed the crust, poured the mixture right on top!

Here’s the bars before cooking:

And after!

I left the bars in the refrigerator overnight to help them harden and form.  And then next morning…Wah-lah!  Beautiful AND TASTY bars.  They are so rich and heavenly…and definitely fitting of my favorite food word…YUMMY!  I wish I could send you one from here 😉

Thanks hubby for the cutting skills!  I was too nervous that I’d mess them up!

 

2 Responses to “Maple Pecan Bars”

  1. Mary Jo Says:

    it looks yummy! 🙂

  2. We might just have to try those out soon. 🙂


Leave a Reply

