Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Cinnamon Toast March 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 9:27 am
Tags: , ,

This morning I woke up and decided I needed some comfort food 😉  So I made toast!  Warm, cruchy, and sweet.  I used the bread I made two days ago and added the local butter and cinnamon and sugar!

The butter looked and cut like cheese…not hard but gave to the knife a bit unlike commercial butter in the stick form.  It had the texture of a semi-hard cheddar cheese.  So I cut off a chunk and melted it in the microwave.  I then brushed it on bread slices and sprinkled it with cinnamon and sugar.

(still working on my camera skills!)

And when it was done, I sat down with a cup of tea 😉 

I am not completely sold on the taste of cinnamon sugar on a savory rye bread.  I could taste the cheddar and it seemed to clash a bit with the sweetness of the toppings.  However, I REALLY liked the texture of the bread, very soft and fresh.  The texture set this breakfast apart for me and is definitely a keeper.  Now I just need to experiment with different bread recipes!

 

Leave a Reply

