Appalachian Appetites

International Inspiration, Local Ingredients

Homemade Bread February 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Ann @ Appalachian Appetites @ 4:43 pm
Tags: , ,

Does it count as “homemade” if I use a bread machine?!

I had secretly been crushing a bread machine during my last couple of months in Togo.  I told my mom and when I returned to North Carolina, she bought me one!  Today was my first day using it.  I chose a rye bread recipe because I thought it would go nicely with our bison dinner tonight 😉  So here’s the experiment…I have to say it turned out very well!

All the ingredients for this recipe: (notice the local cheese!)

Cheese & Rye

1 1/2 c. hot water

4 tsp. oil

2 tbsp. sugar

1 1/2 tsp. salt

3 1/4 c. bread flour

2/3 c. rye flour

2 tbsp. grated Parmesan cheese

1 1/4 c. shredded cheddar cheese

2 tbsp. fast rising yeast

Before…
During…

After!

I am really excited and proud of myself for how well it turned out!  And, yes, I’ve had a bite…Yummy!  Now I’m off to make bison burgers…Yay for Nathan being home and hungry! 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Homemade Bread”

  1. Mary Jo Says:

    It looked yummy!!! 🙂 Mooo


Leave a Reply

